Member Counties

Cameron County

Cameron County has a population of 426,235 residents. Valley Baptist Medical Center – Brownsville and Valley Regional Medical Center service the areas from Rancho Viejo and Los Fresnos, East to South Padre Island, the Brownsville metro area, and often receive patients from Mexico. Harlingen Medical Center and Valley Baptist Medical Center – Harlingen, generally handle patients from Willacy County and the Harlingen Area to as far west as Mercedes. Valley Baptist Medical Center-Harlingen serves as the lead facility for Cameron County being a Level II Trauma designated facility and often accommodates trauma patients from across the Rio Grande Valley.

Hidalgo County

Hidalgo County has a population of 888,367 residents.  Knapp Medical Center provides services for the residents of Weslaco and its surrounding area including Mercedes to the East and West to Alamo. STHS Edinburg provides medical care to residents of Southern Brooks County and North of  Pharr.   Mission Regional Medical Center provides care for residents of Mission and its surrounding areas as far west to Starr County line and east to Ware Rd. in McAllen.  STSH McAllen and Rio Grande Regional Hospital provide services to the residents of McAllen and its surrounding communities including Pharr and San Juan. Doctors Hospital at Renaissance operates with the city of Edinburg providing services for Edinburg, McAllen, Pharr and San Juan. Driscoll Children’s Hospital Rio Grande Valley is located in Edinburg but services children from across the Valley as one of two dedicated children’s hospitals in the RGV, with STHS Children’s being the other. Doctors Hospital at Renaissance and  South Texas Health System McAllen serve as the lead trauma facilities in Hidalgo County and the region by serving as the region’s only Level I Trauma designated facilities.

Starr County

Starr County has a population of 65,785 residents. Starr County Memorial Hospital is a rural facility. After initial stabilization, patients are transferred to the nearest appropriate facility. 

Willacy County

Willacy County has a population of 21,810 residents. Willacy County has no hospitals. The patients from this region are generally transported to Valley Baptist Medical Center-Harlingen or Harlingen Medical Center.