About TRAC-V

Trauma Service Area V is the geographic area which lies at the southernmost tip of Texas. The area consists of four counties: Cameron, Hidalgo and Starr Counties which share a border with Mexico. Willacy County lies to the north of Cameron County. There are 12 hospitals within the region, 12 of which are now trauma designated facilities.

Cameron County contains:
Valley Baptist Medical Center – Brownsville, a designated Primary (Level II) Stroke facility;

Valley Regional Medical Center, an Advanced (Level III) Trauma facility both serving Brownsville and the surrounding areas; and

Valley Baptist Medical Center-Harlingen, a Designated Primary (Level II) Stroke facility and the lead facility for Cameron and Willacy Counties, serving Harlingen and its surrounding communities.

Harlingen Medical Center, which serves the citizens of Cameron County, is designated a Basic (Level IV) facility.

Hidalgo County contains:
Knapp Medical Center, designated an Advanced (Level III) Trauma facility, which serves the citizens of Weslaco and its surrounding communities; Serving the McAllen metro area are:

McAllen Medical Center, designated an Advanced (Level II) Trauma facility and a Primary (Level II) Stroke facility for the Upper Rio Grande Valley;

Rio Grande Regional Hospital,
which is designated an Advanced (Level III) Trauma facility; and Primary (Level II) Stroke facility.

McAllen Heart Hospital,
designated a Basic (Level IV) facility.

Edinburg Regional Medical Center,
designated a Basic (Level lV) Trauma Facility and Primary (Level ll) Stroke facility.

Doctors Hospital at Renaissance, designated a Advance (Level I) Trauma facility and Primary (Level l ) Stroke facility.

Mission Regional Medical Center, designated a Basic (Level lV) Trauma facility and a Stroke ready facility.

Starr County contains:
Starr County Memorial Hospital, in Rio Grande City, is currently designated a Basic (Level IV) trauma facility.

Willacy County contains no hospitals within the county. Trauma Service Area V represents a classic example of the specialized challenges in delivering care to the trauma patient in a rural setting, since there is no level I or II trauma center within the service area. Many transfers for specialized care are transported outside the region. However, since the development of the Regional Trauma System, the communication between provider and hospital has increased tremendously and the quality of care provided to the victims of trauma have improved. The region is excited about its continued growth and development. Future plans include working closely with the RAHC (Regional Academic Health Center) to further develop educational opportunities for all members of the Trauma Service Area.